Blogs > Northern Ohio Local Politics

Politics is big in these parts, and we’ve got it covered. John Arthur Hutchison and other staff writers will offer their inside information on the events, big news and little moments of the local political scene in Lake, Geauga and eastern Cuyahoga counties.

Tuesday, September 13, 2011

14th Congressional District would still include seven counties

Ohio House Bill 319, introduced today as the first measure to map out redistricting in Ohio, shows the 14th Congressional District would still consist of Lake, Geauga and Ashtabula counties, plus portions of Cuyahoga, Summit, Trumbull and Portage counties.

The district is currently represented by U.S. Rep. Steven C. LaTourette, R-Bainbridge Township.

Those seven counties currently comprise the district, so it’s just a matter of where the new lines will be drawn.

Ohio must shrink from 18 to 16 congressional districts due to the state’s lack of substantial population growth.

Below is a copy of the proposed map for the district.

Proposed Ohio Congressional District 14

-- John Arthur Hutchison/
Twitter: newsheraldjah


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home