Blogs > Northern Ohio Local Politics

Politics is big in these parts, and we’ve got it covered. John Arthur Hutchison and other staff writers will offer their inside information on the events, big news and little moments of the local political scene in Lake, Geauga and eastern Cuyahoga counties.

Tuesday, January 15, 2013

Geauga Dems Chairwoman Janet Carson elected president of statewide association

Geauga County Democratic Party Chairwoman Janet Carson has been elected as president of the Ohio Democratic County Chairs Association.

The association’s goal is to work to increase the Democratic vote percentage in all of Ohio’s counties.

”By studying the best practices used successfully in red and blue, large and small, urban and rural counties, we can turn out more Democrats and win statewide,” Carson said. “ Starting now, the ODCCA will begin work to expand our Democratic farm team and build a stronger infrastructure in every county.”

Others elected were Dallas Hurt of Brown County as 1st Vice Chairman, Don Traxler of Hardin County as 2nd Vice Chairman, Ann Reno of Clinton County as Secretary, and Amy Grubbe of Erie County as Treasurer. Dave Fisher of Miami County was also elected as the Sergeant at Arms.

“Our county parties help develop new leaders who will serve as the future of our state Democratic leadership,” said Ohio Democratic Party Chairman Chris Redfern. “The Ohio Democratic County Chairs Association serves an instrumental role in our efforts to hold Gov. John Kasich accountable for his attacks on working class Ohioans, and I’m certain President Carson, along with Don, Ann, Amy and Dave will serve our county parties well.”

The newly elected officers will serve through the crucial 2014 Gubernatorial statewide election cycle. The association will be instrumental in turning out Democratic voters in all of Ohio’s 88 counties when all statewide offices will be on the ballot.

John Arthur Hutchison
Twitter: @newsheraldjah

Labels: , , , , ,


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home